Weingut Familie Allendorf

NO MAN NO WINE

The Allendorf family has been living in the most beautiful part of the Rheingau region since the 13th century. With approx. 75 hectares they operate the largest family-run wine estate in the Winkel, Rüdesheim and Assmannshausen area. Ulrich Allendorf heads the business with his sister Christine Schönleber.

The whole team is dedicated and committed to producing the best possible wines from the estate’s excellent sites.

For the Allendorf family, working at the heart of their home territory is both a huge gift and a true obligation.

ULRICH ALLENDORF

SON OF FRITZ AND LOTTE ALLENDORF,
FATHER TO LUISE AND MARIE
OWNER

Even as a small boy Uli’s dream was to be a winemaker. And the passion for the craft of this cosmopolitan lateral thinker is unswerving as he travels the world representing the family brand. Uli began managing the wine estate in 1996 following the sudden death of his father, Fritz. The graduate oenologist is the driving force behind enhancing the quality and style of the wine, supported by his nephew Max, and brother-in-law Josef. Uli loves mature Rieslings and always has time to illustrate to visitors the different varieties of the Rieslings with a touch of humour.

CLAUDIA ALLENDORF

WIFE OF ULRICH ALLENDORF,
MOTHER TO LUISE AND MARIE

As a lawyer for the Rheingau-Taunus district, Uli’s wife is less involved in daily operations, but uses her legal background to support the wine estate in many areas. She also happily aids the team with presentations. Not in the least because she shares the whole family’s passion for wine.

CHRISTINE SCHÖNLEBER

(née Allendorf)

DAUGHTER OF FRITZ AND LOTTE ALLENDORF,
MOTHER TO ANNE, MAX AND FLORIAN,
OWNER

Christine Schönleber, known as Christel, runs the business with enthusiasm and warmth alongside her brother Uli. She keeps the wine estate and the family together and is a natural hostess and a fantastic cook. Thus she is the one who guards the secret recipe of the typical Rheingau “Spundekäs” dish (vineyard cream cheese dip) an old speciality of her grandmother. With a clear sense of style and taste Christel creates culinary delights which perfectly complement wine tastings and enchant the wine tavern guests, putting a smile on their faces.

MAX SCHÖNLEBER

SON OF CHRISTEL AND JOSEF SCHÖNLEBER,
FATHER TO IDA-MARIA
WINEMAKER

Max has been in the family business since 2012, incorporating the diverse experiences he gained during his apprenticeships at well known companies and his degree in oenology in Geisenheim. He has a very clear vision of how the individual sites are to be interpreted and how to craft an individual style for the Allendorf wines. The quest for perfection, craftsmanship, enough time and the patience to recognise the signs of nature are the principles he works on. The development of the Spätburgunder is influenced by his father’s many years of experience and knowledge gained during his apprenticeship at Bernhard Huber’s.

ELENA SCHÖNLEBER

WIFE OF MAX SCHÖNLEBER,
MOTHER TO IDA-MARIA

Lena was born in the Rheinland and came to the Rheingau to become a winemaker. Her love for Max has kept her here. She enjoys spending her free time in the vineyards with her daughter, the dogs and her horse. Her training as a winemaker and sommeliere, as well as her helpful and cheerful nature, make her indispensable at wine estate events: guests soon become friends in her company.

JOSEF SCHÖNLEBER

HUSBAND OF CHRISTEL SCHÖNLEBER, FATHER TO ANNE,
 MAX AND FLORIAN, HEAD OF OPERATIONS

Josef has been crafting wines in the Allendorf cellar for over three decades and is now setting new accents with his son. He dedicates all his time and energy into supervising the large expanse of vineyards and organises operations. But the best view of the wine estate’s finest sites are from a boat: Josef enjoys this perspective – as often as work permits, avoiding hustle and bustle, and in peace. Because at work he’s the one who makes sure Max has enough time to attend to his duties. Josef is particularly proud of his “Quercus” Pinot Noir, which he has been maturing in barriques since the 1990s and has, to date, created a respectable number of bottles.

ANNE SCHÖNLEBER

DAUGHTER OF CHRISTEL AND JOSEF SCHÖNLEBER,
ACCOUNTING AND FINANCE

Anne has gained 16 years of experience in other companies and has always remained true to the world of figures. In 2014 she joined the wine estate as an accountant. Her warm, open, sociable nature ensures there’s always a good atmosphere in the office and with the customers, and her structured approach helps balance the books. She has strong support by her side with her partner Stephan, a marketing genius. The couple share their love for classic cars and enjoy every free moment behind the wheel.

FLORIAN SCHÖNLEBER

SON OF CHRISTEL AND JOSEF SCHÖNLEBER,
TREND SCOUT

Florian, the family’s man in Berlin, makes every effort to ensure that the capital’s bars don’t run dry. He and his partner Paul are the wine estate’s trend scouts generating enthusiasm for Rheingau Riesling and Spätburgunder in the Berlin restaurant and nightlife scene.

FRITZ UND LOTTE ALLENDORF

PARENTS OF ULI AND CHRISTEL,
FOUNDERS OF TODAY’S WINE ESTATE

When Fritz Allendorf took over the wine estate in 1955 the family owned just 1.5 hectares of vineyards. With his wife Lotte, he continually expanded the wine estate buying numerous excellent sites – particularly around the original vineyard, the Winkeler Hasensprung. In the first few years alone he increased the area the family owned tenfold. Even after his death, Fritz Allendorf remains a well known and respected character in the Rheingau region. During his ten years as President of the Rheingau Viticultural Association and as the driving force for building the B42 road which connects the Rheingau to Wiesbaden, he was able to gather different interest groups around the table. Oma Lotte, mother of four children, nine grandchildren and one great-grandchild is the heart and soul of the house. She follows everything that is going on in the business, driven by her children and grandchildren, with pride and joy, 60 years after starting out with her husband.

OHNE MENSCH KEIN WEIN

Seit dem 13. Jahrhundert lebt die Familie Allendorf dort, wo der Rheingau am schönsten ist. Rund 70 Hektar bewirtschaftet das damit größte familiengeführte Weingut rund um Winkel, Rüdesheim und Assmannshausen. Ulrich Allendorf leitet den Betrieb mit seiner Schwester Christine Schönleber.

Das ganze Team trägt mit Einsatz und viel Hingabe dafür Sorge, dass die großartigen Lagen ihr ganzes Potential entfalten können.

Für die Familie Allendorf ist die Arbeit inmitten ihrer Heimat ein großes Geschenk und eine echte Verpflichtung.

ULRICH ALLENDORF

SOHN VON FRITZ UND LOTTE ALLENDORF,
VATER VON LUISE UND MARIE,
INHABER

Uli wollte schon als kleiner Junge Winzer werden. Auch wenn er heute weltweit als Markenbotschafter der Familie unterwegs ist, die Leidenschaft des weltoffenen Querdenkers für das Handwerk ist ungebrochen. Nach dem plötzlichen Tod seines Vaters Fritz, übernahm er 1996 die Geschäftsführung des Weinguts. Als studierter Oenologe treibt er gemeinsam mit seinem Neffen Max und seinem Schwager Josef Weinqualität und Weinstil voran. Uli liebt gereifte Rieslinge und nimmt sich viel Zeit, den Besuchern des Weinguts, die Spielarten des Rieslings anschaulich und humorvoll zu vermitteln.

CLAUDIA ALLENDORF

FRAU VON ULRICH ALLENDORF,
MUTTER VON LUISE UND MARIE

Als Juristin beim Rheingau-Taunus-Kreis ist Ulis Frau weniger in das Tagesgeschäft eingebunden, unterstützt das Weingut aber mit ihrer juristischen Kompetenz in vielen Bereichen. Gerne greift sie dem Team bei Präsentationen unter die Arme. Nicht zuletzt, weil auch sie – wie die ganze Familie – von der Begeisterung für den Wein angetrieben wird.

CHRISTINE SCHÖNLEBER

(geborene Allendorf)

TOCHTER VON FRITZ UND LOTTE ALLENDORF,
MUTTER VON ANNE,
MAX UND FLORIAN,
INHABERIN

Christine Schönleber, von allen Christel genannt, führt gemeinsam mit Ihrem Bruder Uli den Betrieb mit großer Herzlichkeit. Sie hält das Weingut und die Familie zusammen – eine geborene Gastgeberin und eine großartige Köchin. Sie ist auch die Bewahrerin des Spundekäs’-Rezeptes ihrer Großmutter, die dieses typische Rheingauer Gericht wiederentdeckt hat. Stilsicher konzipiert sie die Speisenbegleitung für Weinproben und zaubert den Gästen des Gutsausschanks mit ihren kulinarischen Entdeckungen ein Lächeln ins Gesicht.

MAX SCHÖNLEBER

SOHN VON CHRISTEL UND JOSEF SCHÖNLEBER,
VATER VON IDA-MARIA,
KELLERMEISTER

Max bringt die vielfältigen Eindrücke seiner Lehrzeit in renommierten Betrieben und seines Studiums der Oenologie in Geisenheim seit 2012 im Weingut der Familie ein. Er hat eine ganz klare Vorstellung davon, wie die einzelnen Lagen zu interpretieren sind und wie sich der Allendorf-Stil unterscheiden soll. Perfektionismus, Handwerk, genug Zeit und die Gelassenheit, die Zeichen der Natur zu erkennen, bilden seine Leitlinie. Die Entwicklung der Spätburgunder ist von der langen Erfahrung seines Vaters und dem Wissen geprägt, das er während seiner Ausbildung bei Bernhard Huber sammeln konnte.

ELENA SCHÖNLEBER

FRAU VON MAX SCHÖNLEBER,
MUTTER VON IDA-MARIA

Lena stammt aus dem Rheinland und kam in den Rheingau, um Winzerin zu werden. Der Liebe zu Max wegen ist sie geblieben. Ihre Freizeit verbringt sie am liebsten mit ihrer Tochter, den Hunden und dem Pferd in den Weinbergen. Ihre Ausbildung als Winzerin und Sommeliere sowie ihre hilfsbereite und fröhliche Art machen sie bei Veranstaltungen auf dem Weingut unersetzlich: In ihrer Gesellschaft werden Gäste schnell zu Freunden.

JOSEF SCHÖNLEBER

MANN VON CHRISTEL SCHÖNLEBER,
VATER VON ANNE,
MAX UND FLORIAN,
BETRIEBSLEITER

Josef, der mehr als 3 Jahrzehnte die Allendorf-Weine im Keller entscheidend geprägt hat, setzt nun gemeinsam mit seinem Sohn Max neue Akzente. Unermüdlich führt Josef die Aufsicht über die umfangreichen Weinberge und organisiert den Betrieb. Vom Boot aus hat man den schönsten Blick auf die Großen Lagen des Weinguts: In aller Ruhe, ohne Hetze, genießt Josef diese Perspektive – sooft es die Arbeit eben zulässt. Denn im Betrieb hält er vor allem Max den Rücken frei. Besonders schätzt Josef seinen „Quercus“ Pinot Noir, den er seit den 90er Jahren im Barrique ausbaut und auf eine respektable Stückzahl gebracht hat.

ANNE SCHÖNLEBER

TOCHTER VON CHRISTEL UND JOSEF SCHÖNLEBER,
CONTROLLING UND FINANZEN

Anne hat 16 Jahre lang Erfahrungen in anderen Unternehmen gesammelt, der Zahlenwelt ist sie immer treu geblieben. Im Jahr 2014 ist sie als Finanzbuchhalterin ins Weingut eingestiegen. Ihre herzliche, offene und kontaktfreudige Art sorgt im Büro und bei den Kunden immer für gute Laune und ihre strukturierte Herangehensweise für eine gute Bilanz. Mit ihrem Partner Stephan, dem Marketingprofi, hat sie eine tolle Unterstützung an ihrer Seite. Beide lieben Oldtimer und genießen jede freie Minute unterwegs in ihrem alten Blech.

FLORIAN SCHÖNLEBER

SOHN VON CHRISTEL UND JOSEF SCHÖNLEBER,
TRENDSCOUT

Florian, der Wahl-Berliner der Familie, sorgt mit großer Überzeugung dafür, dass die Hauptstadt nicht auf dem Trockenen sitzen muss. Er und sein Lebensgefährte Paul sind die Trendscouts des Weinguts; sie begeistern die Berliner Restaurantszene und das Nachtleben für Rheingauer Riesling und Spätburgunder.

FRITZ UND LOTTE ALLENDORF

ELTERN VON ULI UND CHRISTEL,
GRÜNDER DES MODERNEN WEINGUTS

Als Fritz Allendorf das Weingut 1955 übernahm, waren gerade einmal 1,5 Hektar Weinberge im Besitz der Familie. Kontinuierlich erweiterte er gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Lotte das Weingut als Aussiedlerhof um etliche ausgezeichnete Lagen – vor allem um jene im Hausweinberg, dem Winkeler Hasensprung. Schon in den ersten Jahren vergrößerte er den Familienbesitz auf das Zehnfache. Fritz Allendorf ist auch über seinen Tod hinaus ein im Rheingau weithin bekanntes und respektiertes Original. Während seiner mehr als 10-jährigen Tätigkeit als Weinbaupräsident und als treibende Kraft des Baus der B42 – das heutige Verbindungsstück zwischen Rheingau und Wiesbaden – konnte er Menschen unterschiedlichster Interessen an einen Tisch holen. Oma Lotte, Mutter von vier Kindern, neun Enkeln sowie einem Urenkel und die gute Seele des Hauses, verfolgt bis heute mit großem Interesse und Einsatz die Entwicklung, die sie und ihr Mann vor mehr als 60 Jahren angestoßen haben und die ihre Kinder und Enkel vorantreiben.